Read it yourself

Visit the Vet

Book 5 contains two stories that build on the phonics learnt in previous books and focus on the sound and letter combinations: j, v, w, x, y, z, zz, qu.

  • Level: Beginner
  • Type: Hardback
  • Page Count: 32 Pages
  • Suitable for: 4-5 years



Lexile Info icon
Key Stage Info icon
Early Years
CEFR Info icon
K-12 Info icon
YLE Info icon


Grapheme: j
Read it yourself

Grapheme: v
Read it yourself

Grapheme: w
Read it yourself

Grapheme: x
Read it yourself

Grapheme: y
Read it yourself

Grapheme: z
Read it yourself

Grapheme: zz
Read it yourself

Grapheme: qu
Read it yourself

Series Overview

For over thirty-five years, the best-selling Read it yourself with Ladybird has helped children learn to read.

All titles feature essential key words. Story-specific words are repeated to practise throughout.

Designed to be read independently at home or used in a guided reading session at school.

All titles include comprehension questions or puzzles, guidance notes and book band information for schools.

This Level 0 title is designed for children who are developing their synthetic phonics skills. Books 1 to 12 introduce letters and sounds in a systematic order.

You May Also Like